Losing Jobs To White Men #TheMindyProject

If you watched the latest episode of The Mindy Project, you’d know where I am going with this.

The writers took an excellent shot at showing what white male privilege looks like and how our society functions around it.

This episode reminded me of my experiences as a woman of color.

In the last three years, I got to the final round of 3 job interviews.

THE FIRST JOB AS A LECTURER

The first case was in a local college, teaching Business studies to under grad students. I won’t name the college to spare them the shame.

You know the pre-interview time when candidates hang out in the waiting lounge? The 3 finalists were a white man, a white woman and me, a woman of color.

We got to speak a little before the interview started.

The white lady was a school teacher and had never taught at that level and specially not Business.

The white man was an ex army man and had never done any teaching in his life. He told that the only time when he studied Business was in his own school days.

Then the third candidate was me; a PhD fellow in Business with 5 years of university level teaching experience.

SURPRISE SURPRISE- The white guy got the job.

You might say I am bitter because I didn’t get the job. OK, let’s talk about the second.

 

THE SECOND JOB AT AN AWARD WINNING IT STARTUP IN THE UK

This is one of the most famous startups in the UK and in my job application, in some question box, I pointed out their company looks great in the videos but there seems to be no diversity. They should look into it.

They invited me for an interview.

One of the 3 white women that interviewed me, was……….. A FUCKING SWIMMING COACH! She didn’t even have a diploma or a certificate in Business and she was interviewing me.

I spent 2 days traveling for the interview, 3 months wasted in several rounds of their interview stages…and filling tons of forms and answering all sorts of questions.

THE RESULT you ask? They hired a male dude with a minor in Business and no experience as the consultant that was MANDATORY in their job description.

THE THIRD I DON’T EVEN WANT TO TALK ABOUT CAUSE ITS THE SAME PATTERN OF STUPIDITY.

I seriously don’t want to be hired because I am a minority woman but I don’t want to be neglected because of that either.

I saw over social media where this one prominent YOUTUBER (white woman) was saying how “women complain so much and if they have so much problem with hiring systems and wage gap then why don’t they go their own way, start their own fucking business or something” I quote.

You see; it’s not that easy.

Not all women have the resources to do that.

I am not even allowed to do anything on my own in the UK because I don’t have the required visa for that. Formal employment under someone else is the only way the country allows me.

What can I do unless a company sponsors my visa?

White male privilege is something I have witnessed too closely and I want to thank the Mindy Project for taking on this hot subject.

Kudos!

Leave a Reply

